Cebu dominated the National DanceSport Championship in the Philippine Superstar Open DanceSport Championship 2024 held in Ultra, Pasig, on February 18, 2024, by winning the entire top six slots. 

The top six winning athletes are products of Cebu’s DanceSport Grassroots Programme and are from public schools. 

The DanceSport Grassroots program was started in the year 1998 by DanceSport Team Cebu City (DTCC) in coordination with the Cebu City Government, the Department of Education, and the barangays via the former Sangguniang Kabataan to gather kids in the barangay or school gyms and train them. The coaches and trainers were members of the DTCC. It didn’t matter if they were already gold medalists; the policy was that they had to hand down what they had learned to the kids via the grassroots program, paying it forward.

First : Andrew Ysla & Noelyn Mie Pedrano
2nd : Mary Desiree Seraga & Jefferson Pimentel
3rd – Wilbert Aunzo & Pearl Marie Cañeda
4th – Anselmo Estillore & Mary Joy Dumosmog
5th – Ouie Selene Rendon & John Lloyd Leyson
6th – John Paul Mocorro & Mitchloni Dinauanao

Special Thanks To:

Cebu City Government Cebu City Grassroots Program/ School for Sports Philippine Sports Commission Cebu City • News & Information

The Freeman News:

The members of DanceSport Team Cebu City again stamped their class, this time in the Philippine Superstar Open Dancesport Championship 2024 at the PhilSports Arena in Pasig City recently.

DTCC ended their campaign in the two-day tilt with a total of 13 medals broken down into five golds, six silvers, and a pair of bronze.

Eleanor Hayco and Lloyd Bartolini minted gold for DTCC in the combined age category as well as John Lloyd Leyson and Ouie Selene Rendon (Under 21 Latin), Kharl Michael Miñoza and Ashley Cullo (Youth A Latin),

Andrew Ysla and Noelyn Mie Pedrano (Grade A Latin), and Marlon Alino and Lucy Hamilton (Special event 2C Standard).

The silver medalists were Rodreyan Rodriguez and Arianne Generalao (Youth C), Lark Jabonero and Carrie Samson (Grade B and Special Event 1C), Eleanor Hayco and Anselmo Estillore (Senior 1A), Rhyss Rhafael Fajardo and Shadelle Niña Hernandez (Youth Latin A), and Rhyss Rhafael Fajardo and Shadelle Niña Hernandez (Youth A Standard).

Kharl Michael Miñoza and Ashley Cullo delivered bronze in Under 21 Latin as well as Wilbert Aunzo and Pearl Marie Cañeda in Grade A Latin. – EBV


By webwizm


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)